Approximately 40% of adults in Ohio own a gun; however, since it is only required to carry a license for concealed carry, it is hard to identify how many guns are in the state. Yet Ohio ranks 8th in the nation for registered guns, and with this many firearms circulating, the chances of a firearm being used illegally is more common. If you are facing a weapons charge and want to know your options and what you can expect from the legal process, contact Wolfe & Mote Law Group, LLC, for help. The attorneys at Wolfe & Mote Law Group, LLC serve clients all around the Columbus, Ohio area including Dublin, Westerville, Gahanna, Hilliard, and counties of Licking, Newark, Heath, Granville, Fairfield, Lancaster, Pickerington, Delaware, Louis Center, Powell.



Common Weapons Charges in Ohio

There are several reasons you may be looking at a weapons charge. Some examples include using a weapon while intoxicated, carrying a firearm in a prohibited space, owning a prohibited weapon, or providing weapons to youth. You will receive a criminal possession of a weapon charge if you are found carrying with a past conviction of a domestic violence misdemeanor or have a domestic violence restraining order.

Unlawful Carrying of Weapons

Some gun owners in Ohio do not possess a concealed carry license, and if those specific people are caught concealing a weapon without a permit it will lead to arrest. Charges range from a 1st-degree misdemeanor up to a 4th-degree felony, especially if the weapon is a firearm and loaded. Even if you possess a license for concealed carry you still could be charged for violating its provisions, such as not disclosing to an officer that you are carrying or not complying with an officer’s orders.

Ohio Gun Laws

Because Ohio is considered an open carry state, it is legal to buy and possess a handgun, shotgun, or rifle without obtaining a license and without registering the gun. If you want to carry a concealed handgun on you or in your car, you must obtain a license, be an active-duty military officer, or a law enforcement officer. A concealed carry permit requires 8 hours of training, and you must be 21 years of age.

Where Weapons are Prohibited

If you have a concealed carry permit, there are some places you cannot carry. Many federal or state-run agencies prohibit concealed carry like police and sheriffs stations, airports, or courtrooms. Schools do not allow the carrying of weapons, including universities and colleges. In addition, some schools do allow weapons to be in a vehicle that is locked. And lastly, most places of worship do not allow weapons.

Unlawful Weapons

Some weapons are always illegal to carry in Ohio, regardless of licensure. These are sometimes referred to as dangerous ordnances and include automatic and sawed-off shotguns, explosives, bombs, grenades, military weapons, ballistic knives, and silencers. Possession of any one of these will likely result in a 5th-degree felony charge.

Possible Penalties

Depending on the severity of your charge, the penalties can range from minor fines to jail time. Additionally, you may have a weapons conviction on your permanent record. These penalties bar you from certain types of employment or licensure, gaining citizenship or naturalization rights, or legally owning firearms in the future. It’s essential to have a competent lawyer working for you to reduce charges and minimize the penalties associated with the criminal possession of a firearm.


Gun crimes are handled very seriously in Ohio regardless of what situation you find yourself in; however, the attorneys at Wolfe & Mote Law Group, LLC can help to ensure that you are treated fairly. Whether you’ve made one bad decision and got caught, been unfairly accused, or if you have multiple convictions, you’ll be treated with respect and compassion. Contact the Wolfe & Mote Law Group, LLC in Columbus, Ohio today to set up a consultation.

Click the Settings Gear on the right to select a parent page that has child pages